“This writing business. Pencils and what-not. Over-rated, if you ask me. Silly stuff. Nothing in it.”

by

                       Owie…..The only audible words that will be heard as the Mariners limp away bow legged after the prostate exam that was their trip to New York over the weekend. The M’s were outscored 19-4 in three straight routes. Being gone all weekend, I missed all of the games (thank God) and all I have to judge this road trip on is wins and losses and losing 5 of 6 by a combined 32-16. So I am going to go ahead and say that I am very unhappy…. Scratch that, livid. I don’t really want to comment all that extensively, as I did not see the games and can’t be sure if the Yankees all took steroids (from the scores one can only assume they did), but with the lowly hope of at least taking one from the Yankees in New York, I thought I had set my expectations low enough that the M’s could live up to them….Stupid me. The Mariners are playing horrible baseball right now; they can’t score runs or prevent runs from being scored.  Hopefully, the M’s can turn things around during the upcoming 7 game homestand, starting tonight against the Texas Rangers in a battle for last place in the A.L. West and finishing this weekend against the Chicago White Sox. With Jarrod Washburn on the mound tonight against Kevin Millwood, it is a lock that the Mariners will be facing the Rangers on Tuesday in sole possession of last place….I hate to be a Debbie downer but its just that kind of day and, in the spirit of the day, I will go ahead and make my prediction for this home stand now…. My hopeful side says winning 5 would be about right but the realist in me thinks 3 wins is a little more reasonable….So I am going to go ahead and say they will take 2 of the seven against the Rangers and Blanco Sox (a little Spanish in honor of this pseudo holiday). “Ooooh, nice prediction….why don’t you be a little more depressing” you say….. With a rain cloud floating only over me I am preparing for the worst.

One Response to ““This writing business. Pencils and what-not. Over-rated, if you ask me. Silly stuff. Nothing in it.””

  1. Jean Says:

    Mariner’s are doing lousy overall … although they won that first home game last night … so yeah hooray … and 50% of the prediction is true already, I really love the humor and cleaver-ness of this writer … and the rain cloud fits Seattle perfectly!!! I heard a comment about Cinco de Mayo yesterday as the holiday celebrating the “underdogs” … that fits, too!!! GO MARINERS!!!

Leave a Reply

